Skip to content

Sooooo, first post

October 28, 2009

Well, hello there. Presumably you’ve stumbled upon here through Nanowrimo or I’ve commented on your blog. Nice to meet you. You’re looking great. I love what you’ve done to your hair.

Okay, that’s enough of the cutesy shenanigans. The first post on a new blog is really hard to write, I’m sure all of you much more seasoned blog writers know that already.  So a little about me, in quick, bulleted points.

  • I’m doing Nanowrimo this year.
  • The reason I’m doing Nanowrimo is to get over this whole problem I have with writing out of the way. I want to write, but it often feels like you’re standing at the base of a vertiginous mountain with no rope or crampons (you need rope and crampons to climb mountains, don’t you?) which feels like a really scary undertaking. Nanowrimo seems like a really good way to get some discipline and see where I’m going with this whole writing lark.
  • Before I thought of doing Nanowrimo, I didn’t have any ideas. None. Now I have two quite good ones, I think. They both need a little bit of research, but both could work.
  • I don’t expect my writing during the Nano process to be good, but I do want to get a good first draft out of it, even if I decide to rewrite the whole lot. It’s easier to work with something than with nothing, right? Right.
  • I love reading and will read just about anything, aside from most genre fantasy and sci-fi.
  • I am married to my Bike Boy, and we have two cats named Izzie and Maud. We don’t have kids but we want them – getting pregnant has been harder than we thought.
  • In totally unrelated news, we are obsessed with our cats.
  • Other things that float my boat? Cooking, film, good TV, crafting (especially knitting and sewing).

I don’t expect that I will have too much here about my actual writing – there will be status updates and links to helpful writing sites – but I’m going to keep my fiction to myself at the moment. There’ll be lots about my reading life, however, and possibly something about my crafting life. Let’s just see how it goes.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. jschancellor permalink
    October 29, 2009 6:45 am

    Welcome to the world of blogging. Nice first post! And its a pleasure to meet you as well. I very specifically recall the feeling you so aptly likened to standing at the base of a mountain. Fear can be a very strong roadblock. As an author I’ve encountered it in different ways at different times, but I have learned that no matter what form fear chooses to manifest in, the only way to lose is to give up. Period. Writing is like painting with oils…there are layers. And just like exercise, you’ve got to do it every day and train your writing muscles. Many, many beginning authors are freaked out by the overwhelming urge to write perfectly. They call them crappy first drafts for a reason…and you’re right–You can, and will, change your writing A LOT once you reach the final draft stage. I hit my worst block yet when I reached the end of my first trilogy and realized how massive the undertaking was ahead of me, concerning revisions and edits. I froze. But, you know what…it passed and I am about to start work on my sixth stand alone project.

    Good luck with NaNo; I too am joining in on the fun this year–my virgin year for NaNo…

    • October 29, 2009 8:17 am

      Thank you so much for your comment! It’s so nice to have some feedback from someone who’s been there and understands – and who’s been successful too! I think I may type up ‘the only way to lose it to give up’ and stick it on my computer. That’s the thing, isn’t it? Just to keep on.

      Anyway, I wasn’t expecting anyone at all to comment on my first post – and certainly not one as lovely, thoughtful and helpful as yours – so thank you again! You really made my day.

Leave a Reply

